My Must Read List for 2014

Here is the list of books that I definitely want to read in 2014:

  1. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
  2. Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace (I tried once before and couldn’t make it through it. Going to try one more time.)
  3. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
  4. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
  5. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  6. The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende
  7. The Shining by Stephen King
  8. The Once and Future King by T.H. White
  9. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  10. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
  11. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
  12. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert M. Pirsig
  13. Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
  14. Farewell, My Lovely by Raymond Chandler
  15. The First World War by John Keegan
  16. The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson
  17. The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman
  18. The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
  19. State of Wonder by Ann Patchett
  20. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by Michael Chabon
  21. Nemesis by Philip Roth
  22. Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman
  23. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
  24. Envious Casca by Georgette Heyer
  25. Mean Street by Sinclair Lewis

I will cross out each book once I have completed it. Please feel free to share your input on these novels but avoid spoilers unless the specific novel is crossed out.

2 thoughts on “My Must Read List for 2014

  1. I read Lovely Bones… thought it was really good. And Gone with the Wind many years ago… it’s awesome. And Pillars of the Earth… no words. And Water for Elephants – book is better than the movie… I couldn’t stand them beating the elephant. oops… hope I didn’t ruin it for you.

  2. I’ve read a few of those – if there’s a way to mail books to Italy you can have my copies 🙂 (My shelves are overflowing again – oops). I love the Once and Future King, Kavalier & Clay is wonderful, though it was maybe a little long? Let me know what you think. Devil in the White City is scary, but good. Anna Karenina I did not love, though book club read it and most people liked it. Gone with the Wind can be fun if you can get past, well, a lot. Rebecca may be the best one on your list 🙂

Leave a Reply

