Completed My First 24 Hour Readathon!!!

Drink of ChoiceHOORAY!!!! I have officially participated and completed my first 24 Hour Readathon (see Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon)!!! Considering I just found out about this a few days ago and wasn’t sure I was actually going to participate until the last minute, I did well and had lots of fun! I finished reading two books, made significant progress in two other books, participated in about 10 mini-challenges, wrote 3 blogs, and tweeted 9 times (which is amazing since I haven’t used Twitter in 6 years). Here is my final survey responses:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Hour 15 (which was 4am my time) was when things started to get rough for me. By Hour 16, I had decided that I would need to nap.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?  Recently I finished “Girl on a Train” by Paula Hawkins and could not put it down. During this readathon, I really got into “1Q84” by Haruki Murakami.
  3.  Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Seeing as how this was my first readathon, I am going to abstain from commenting on improvements. I think improvements need to be made on my end first.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I appreciated people’s input about books that I was reading. Many gave suggestions of other books I should put on my to-read list, which I found very helpful. I loved when people posted snack ideas. Keep those coming next time!
  5. How many books did you read? I read two books and made significant progress in two other books.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? I finished “To the Lighthouse” by Virginia Woolf and “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” by Washington Irving. I am also in the middle of “1Q84” by Haruki Murakami and “Murder in the Cathedral” by T.S. Eliot.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? I enjoyed “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow,” but I still feel that “1Q84” is fantastic. If it wasn’t such a long book, I would have definitely finished that.
  8. Which did you enjoy least? I did not enjoy “To the Lighthouse.” Unfortunately, no matter how much I want to like Virginia Woolf for her unique style, her stories just don’t grab me. I feel nothing for the characters and often find myself confused on what is actually happening.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I was not a cheerleader but may consider being one in the future.
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I will definitely be participating in a readathon again. I loved it! Next time, I will probably spend more time preparing myself and increasing my reading goals, but then after that I may want to become more involved.

I can’t wait to do this again in April. It was wonderful to spend some good quality time with some amusing characters of literature. Now it is time to get back to reality!

Leave a Reply

