WWW Wednesdays – September 19, 2018

www

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Time for another WWW Wednesdays, which is brought to you by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words. If you too want to participate, answer the above questions and post that link on Sam’s page.

Currently Reading

Finished Reading

You May Now Kill The Bride (Return to Fear Street #1) by R. L. Stine

th

The Fear Street series was an obsession of mine when I was in middle school into high school. A month ago, I heard that R. L. Stine had decided to revive his Fear Street street – 20 years later – with a new series called Return To Fear Street. I knew I had to pick up the first book as soon as possible, if for no other reason then to just relive my younger reading days. I managed to get a copy from my local library and put down all my other books to read it immediately. This would be a good example of books that you love when you are younger but not as much when you are older. There are about 100 pages near the end of the book that are fun and thrilling, but overall I was a little disappointed. Even the end was not very strong in my opinion. It isn’t a bad book, but I think it is a timely book to be read by younger people. Still, it was nice to relive my teenage years through literature for a couple days.

Lost Girls: An Unsolved American Mystery by Robert Kolker

eb2149ee104d897024f50dc872d8d19d--unsolved-murders-unsolved-mysteries

I am continuing my true crime phase with this book related to bodies of sex workers found on Long Island. It gives a lot of details on the lives and families of all the victims – almost too much detail. Frankly all the people mentioned started to get a little confusing. While I do think the family life of the victims and the families’ involvement during the case is important, I believe the writer should have kept his focus more on the victims. I also would have like a bit more information about the police case, like a first hand interview, not just what the media was reporting. It is quite depressing though how many cases there are of sex workers disappearing and being killed, and authorities not doing anything about it. There was a similar serial-killer case in my hometown of Milwaukee many years ago that was pretty much ignored at the time. After being arrested for other crimes and released a dozen times in two decades, detectives finally tied the perpetrator to all the murdered women. I hope that the case of the Lost Girls will be solved someday.

Reading Next

I got a bit distracted this past week, but I don’t anticipate any distractions this coming week, so I should finally finish all the books I’ve been in the middle of for a while. Have you read any of these? What have you been reading lately? Any recommendations?

HAPPY READING!!!!

 

25 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays – September 19, 2018

    • I just started Magpie Murders for a book club meeting next week. I have been looking forward to that one. I’ll post my thoughts on the next WWW post. I’ll go check out your post right now. 🙂

    • And I was the opposite. I missed the Goosebumps series (which was very popular) but was obsessed with his Fear Street series. I used to work in a Young Adult section, and there really isn’t a lot of horror but lots of fantasy. Thanks for linking your post. I’ll go check it out right now.

    • If you haven’t read “I’ll Be Gone in the Dark”, that might be a good one for you to help get you back into true crime if interested. Welcome to the WWW world! I’ll go check out your post right now.

      • I got to that one just before the slump kicked in, thankfully! I really enjoyed it! Though I wish the author could’ve finished it herself.

    • I put it down when a library hold came in, but I hope to finish it in the next few days. It took a little bit for me to get into it, but I’m into it now.

  1. I’ve heard great things about Magpie Murders! Brave New World is actually one of my favorite classics (the first classic I read during English class and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it), and I’m hoping to read I Am Malala some time soon as well. Have a wonderful week and happy reading!

  2. Totally feel you re: ‘new book from childhood fav not as good as when I was younger nostalgia’problem. Totally worth the risk though because sometimes it lives up SO WELL.

    Also I feel like I Am Malala is one of those books that is more interesting because of the event itself rather than the way it’s told, and stuff like that? But it’s worth it, I think.

Leave a comment