WWW Wednesdays – September 12, 2018

www

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Time for another WWW Wednesdays, which is brought to you by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words. If you too want to participate, answer the above questions and post that link on Sam’s page.

Currently Reading

Finished Reading

I’d Rather Be Reading by Anne Bogel

51CfEp73fNL._SX355_BO1,204,203,200_

I’m assuming that if you are reading this blog post, you enjoy reading. This is the book for all you readers. It touches on developing one’s reading life and what/who inspires it (aka libraries, bookstores and friends/family). It talks about the comfort of bookshelves and the act of giving/receiving book recommendations. I’d Rather Be Reading contains so many beautiful lines:

“For everyone who’s ever finished a book under the covers with a flashlight when they were supposed to be sleeping.” (Her dedication)
“I’m grateful for my one life, but I’d prefer to live a thousand.”
“My simple rows of library records may not be as pretty as personal photographs, but when it comes to remembering – well, they take me right back.”
“Reading is personal and never more so than when we’re sharing why we connect with certain books.”
“Books grace our shelves and fill our homes with beauty; they dwell in our minds and occupy our thoughts.”

This book will be gracing and beautifying my bookshelf for a long long time. I hope you read it and enjoy it as much as I did!

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

{456B00E5-3E20-47B7-B502-25CA03CE64AC}Img100

I recently read the book Educated by Tara Westover and really enjoyed it. I felt for the main character who grew up in an extremely sheltered and ignorant world with a very abusive brother. I found similarities in reading The Glass Castle. This book was an even more intense read in my opinion. Trigger warnings for individuals who have a difficult time reading about sexual and alcohol abuse. Mostly I think I found it heartbreaking how the parents used their (and sometimes their kids’) money to feed their own addictions instead of their kids’ stomachs. When I read memoirs like this one and Educated, it puts a lot of my own feelings of my childhood into perspective. I don’t know that anyone has a perfect childhood, but I am grateful that I had a childhood that contained a stable roof over my head, food on the table and a good education.

The Alienist by Caleb Carr

TNTtiein

I literally just finished this book last night. It was a quick read for me, as I really enjoyed it. It was a thrilling true crime story with a taste of what New York was like in the late 1800s with Theodore Roosevelt in charge of reforming a corrupt NYPD. (Trigger warning: graphic details related to the murders, including mutilation.) I especially enjoyed the character of Sara, whose main ambition is to be the first woman in the NYPD. The men all try to be delicate around her, but then she will shock them by cursing. It is a wonderful cast of interesting characters with a thrilling and mysterious plot. I am hoping to get access to the TNT series (based off this book) soon. Also, if you are interested in audiobooks, Edward Herrmann – for all you Gilmore Girls fans – does an amazing job!

Reading Next

Have you read any of these books? What are you reading lately?

HAPPY READING!!!!

23 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays – September 12, 2018

    • “I’d Rather Be Reading” is one of those adorable little books that you just want to feature in your bookshelf. It’s so great!

    • So no need to be ashamed about that. I have books on my shelf that I got as Christmas presents three years ago that I haven’t read. There are just too many books and too little time.

  1. Loads of the Point Horror and RL Stine books have suddenly popped up on Overdrive and I am so tempted. Can’t remember reading any of the Stine ones but I loved the Point Horrors when I was younger.

    • I read Fear Street when I was in middle school, and I recently found out that RL Stine decided to start writing them again after 20 years. I got excited and had to get it from the library.

      • Ah maybe that’s why they’ve reappeared at the library. I did see some chat on Twitter too about trying to persuade current authors to start writing new Point Horror stories (which would be awesome). I need more horror in my reading.

  2. I had a hard time with The Glass Castle – just tough stuff to read. I liked The Alienist as well! I just read that a couple of months ago – very enjoyable! And that is a great quote 🙂

  3. I agree that The Glass Castle is a very powerful memoir! Difficult to read, but excellent. I’m looking forward to read Educated some time soon as well. I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading!

  4. Haven’t read any of the books mentioned. But currently reading the sequel to You by Caroline Kepnes.

    I do want to read The Glass Castle at some point, the movie looked really good.

Leave a comment